Ministry of Physical Planning and Urban Development


VISION: Lagos as a Sustainable SMART City of Choice

MISSION : Making Lagos Sustainable , Resilient and Attractive to Business through Community Regeneration and Inclusive Physical Planning

MOTTO: Sustainable Lagos  

History : The history of Planning in Lagos State can be traced to the pre-independence era when the Lagos Executive Development Board (L.E.D.B) was established in 1928 by the Colonial Administration with the legal Instrument tagged ‘the Town Planning Ordinance’ (Cap 95 of 1928) which declared Lagos as a planned city.

The objectives of the L.E.D.B. were: • Vetting and Approval of Building Plans• Undertaking Comprehensive Land use, Re-planning, Improvement (i.e. Reclamation and Re-planning of Oko-Awo and Idumagbo Area)• Housing Development and General Development of Lagos State Schemes:▪ Central Lagos Scheme- 1st to be cleared and re-planned▪ Surulere Re- housing Scheme – To re-plan Surulere and provide necessary facilities.

 In 1956 the Western Nigeria Government created the Ikeja Area Planning Authority (I.A.P.A.) to execute development control within Isolo, Mushin, Ikeja, Agege and Ajegunle among others. 

To resolve the lack of co-ordination, inefficiency and waste resulting from duplication of responsibilities by L.E.D.B and I.A.P.A, the Lagos State Development and Property Corporation (LSDPC) was created in 1972 for centralisation and control of planning in Lagos State.

The LASDPC was saddled with the responsibility to acquire, develop, hold, manage, sell, lease and let any movable and unmovable properties within the State. 

However, by 1973 Planning function metamorphosed in the Lagos State Administration as follows:
I. Ministry of Works and Planning 1973 – 1978
II. Ministry of Housing, Surveys and Special Duties 1978 – 1979
III. Ministry of Economic Planning and Lands Matters 1979 – 1984
IV. Department of Lands, Housing

V. Department of the Environment, 1985 – 1986
VI.Department of the Environment and Physical Planning of the Military Governor’s Office 1987 – 1989
VII. Ministry of Environment and Physical Planning 1990 – 1991
VIII. Office of the Environment and Physical Planning, Governor’ Office 1992 – 1993

IX. Ministry of Environment and Physical Planning 1994 – 1999.

X. Office of Physical Planning, Ministry of Environment and Physical Planning 1999 – 2003

XI. Ministry of Physical Planning 2003 – 2004 

XII. Ministry of Physical Planning and Urban Development from 2004 to date. 

Since 2003 when responsibility for Planning was subsumed in a full-fledge Ministry, and by adding the responsibility for Urban Development in 2004, Planning and Development control in Lagos State assumed greater dimension with 5 Technical Departments and a technical Unit( Technical Services Department, Regional and Master Plan Department, Development Matters Department, Physical Planning Department, Urban Development Department and Lagos State Planning Information Centre) devouted to Planning matters.

The remaining two departments (Administration and Human Resources Department and Finance and Accounts Department) are supportive.

With this expanded function, the Ministry supervises four Agencies that is:
Lagos State Physical Planning Permit Authority (LASPPPA);
Lagos State Building Control Agency (LASBCA);
Lagos State Urban Renewal Agency (LASURA) and Lagos State Planning and Environmental Monitoring Agency (LASPEMA). 
Back to top button