The Lagos State Government has commissioned preparation of Action Area Plans for nine communities as part of efforts to further spur growth and development across the State.

Making this disclosure in Alausa, on Thursday, was the Commissioner for Physical Planning and Development, Dr. Idris Salako, who stated that the Action Area Plans would align with the various Operative Development Plans in the State as well as focus on creating economically productive, efficient, equitable and responsive communities.

According to Salako, the Action Area Planswould project both the comparative and competitive advantages of the concerned communities by considering the current stage of their development and setting out the direction of change in those communities.

He averred that the expected impact of the project was manifold including compact city, great communities, economics and tourism, environment and infrastructure, adding that other inherent benefits are social wellness and safety, good urban design as well as governance, recreation and culture.

“These are lower-order plans that will address, among others, long-term community development, land use and growth in a responsive manner that will buttress the T.H.E.M.E.S Agenda of the Lagos State Government”, he explained.                           

While noting that competent consultants had been selected, in line with the Public Procurement Law, to handle the projects and ensure timely completion, the Commissioner remarked that a painstaking selection process, commencing with the Expression of Interests, published in the newspapers of July 4, 2020, had preceded the Award of the nine Action Area Plans.

He, therefore, enjoined members of the communities to cooperate fully by providing the enabling environment for the consultants, who are expected to carry the people along throughout the process and ensure that feedback from them reflected in the plans.

The communities to benefit from the planning instrument include Ijagemo and Ijeododo in Alimosho/Ojo Local Government Area; Ijegun-Egba in Amuwo-Odofin Local Government Area; Pota and Ikoga in Badagry Local Government Area; Ise and Ode-Omi in Epe Local Government Area and, Obawole and Iju in Ifako-Ijaiye Local Government Area.                                         

Related Articles

Back to top button