Inaugurates Technical Committee

The Lagos State Government on Friday stepped-up its collaboration with the Federal Housing Authority on the restoration of Federal Government Estates in Lagos State by inaugurating a Technical Committee.

Speaking during the inauguration of the Technical Committee in the Conference Room of the Ministry of Physical Planningand Urban Development, the Commissioner for Physical Planning and Urban Development, Dr. Idris Salako, who was represented by the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry, Engr. Abiola Kosegbe, said that the fast degrading condition of  Federal Government Estates in Lagos State, especially Festac Town and Gowon Estate, Ipaja necessitated the constitution of a committee to see to the restoration of these Estates.

He said that the Governor of Lagos State, Mr. Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu had thrown his weight behind the collaborative effort to revamp the Federal Government Estates, having been aware of the enormous urban planning challenges that the slumming of sprawling estates would create for the host State.

The Commissioner maintained that the move would encourage joint efforts  for resolving cases of illegal structures such as unapproved constructions and all forms of attachments within the estates.

“For this collaboration to achieve its aim of a better-built environment within Federal Estates in Lagos, we expect members of the Technical Committee to handle this assignment with passion, diligence and integrity it deserves, while providing regular updates and feedback to the Government”, Salako said.

Speaking on behalf of the newly inaugurated Technical Committee, the Zonal Manager, Federal Housing Authority, Arc. (Mrs.) Bada remarked that she was excited by the synergy between the Lagos State Government and the Federal Housing Authority, which she described as long-awaited and capable of turning around the fortunes of the Estates for the benefit of all stakeholders, including the Lagos State Government in whose jurisdiction the Estates are located.

Members of the Technical Committee were drawn from the Federal Housing Authority, Lagos State Ministry of Physical Planningand Urban Development, Office of Surveyor-General, Lagos State PhysicalPlanning Permit Authority and the Lagos State Urban Renewal Agency.

Related Articles

Back to top button